Canadian Park Hound

Outdoor Trips & Tips With The Novice Bushwacker

Food Review: Backcountry Pantry Shepard’s Pie

leave a comment »

Food, the amount and weight of, has been a constant source of meditation for me when I decide to tackle the trail. Even though I envision my backcountry trips to be full of awe and wonderment during the planning stages, in reality, the food that you bring has a pretty big impact on the experience. I’ve broken my back carrying too much food, and sat in the backwoods, looking at a ridiculous assortment of spices and grains for too long not to consider what prepared backwoods meals that might be available out there. Join me as I buy and taste what offerings I find during my search…

Backcountry Pantry: Shepard’s Pie

Packaging:

Aluminum, “prepare in bag”.

Backcountry Pantry Shepard’s Pie

Preparation:

Add boiling water while stirring food. Seal bag and let sit for 13 minutes.

Backcountry Pantry Shepard’s Pie, inside package view.

Taste:

Salty with a tang that hit the sides of the tongue throughout. A bit of a potato soup by our standards, if following the recipe for exact water measurements. The first few bites after a long day in the middle of nowhere may be rewarding, but finishing it may be a chore. Lots of powdered spices that aren’t well balanced  beyond, “salty”.

Full disclosure: I can’t find any love for instant potatoes. This product didn’t bring me around.

Portion:

Two people.

Ratings:

Backwoods: Thumbs down. Too expensive for food that can easily be prepared at home for less $$.

RV/ car camping: Skip it.

Written by canadianparkhound

December 26, 2012 at 11:58 am

Posted in 2012, Food Reviews

Leave a Reply

